Alumni to Be Honored in October

Mannie Jackson

Mannie L. Jackson, who rose from being born in a boxcar to being the first African American owner of a major sports franchise, has been named the recipient of the 2017 AHS Distinguished Alumni Award.
Mr. Jackson is the president and chairman of Boxcar Holdings. He had a long and distinguished career with Honeywell, retiring in 1994 as its worldwide executive vice president. A year earlier, he had purchased the Harlem Globetrotters, quickly restoring the Hall of Fame basketball team to its status as a global icon. He recently founded the Mannie Jackson Center for the Humanities Foundation in Edwardsville, Illinois, to promote cultural understanding and respect. On September 8, Mr. Jackson was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Jean Driscoll

Multiple medal-winning wheelchair athlete Jean Driscoll has been named the recipient of the 2017 Harold Scharper Award, given by the Division of Disability Resources and Educational Services.
Ms. Driscoll participated in the summer Paralympics four times, in 1988, 1992, 1996, and 2000, winning five gold, three silver, and four bronze medals. She also has won the women’s wheelchair division of the Boston marathon eight times. In 2012, Ms. Driscoll received an Order of Lincoln Medallion from Lincoln Academy of Illinois, the state's highest honor. She currently is the senior director of development for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Mr. Jackson and Ms. Driscoll will be honored during ceremonies in the College of Applied Health Sciences on Friday, October 27.