Image of two students working in a lab

Interdisciplinary Health Sciences

Research social and behavioral science. Address human health holistically. Tailor your degree to prepare for the complexities of the health science industry.

Awards & Scholarships

Awards and Scholarships are awarded in the Spring. Spring 2020 applications are not being accepted at this time, but will become available closer to the end of the year. For more information, please check with your advisor.

Joanne M. Carraway and Charles M. Carraway Scholarship

This scholarship was established through a generous estate gift made by Robinson, IL, native Joanne M. Carraway (PEW ’51) and her husband Charles. Through an endowment, their gift provides permanent financial support and recognition to students studying Kinesiology and Community Health.

Carol L. Chittenden Scholarship

This scholarship is supported through gifts made by Carol Chittenden and her spouse Bill through the Chittenden Family Foundation. The award recognizes undergraduate students who have shown professional promise, scholarship, and service to their profession. Carol and Bill also support graduate fellowships in the Department of Kinesiology and Community Health and the Department of Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering to foster interdisciplinary research in these fields of study.

F. Patricia Cullen Scholarship

Born in East St. Louis, Dr. Patricia Cullen (1923 – 2007) was a member of the University of Illinois physical education faculty for 10 years, earning her doctoral degree in 1964. She spent her career as a faculty member in Kinesiology at San Diego State University, retiring as professor emerita in 1985. Supported through an estate provision, this scholarship provides financial support and recognition to undergraduate students in the Department of Kinesiology and Community Health.

Beulah Drom Scholarship

Beulah Drom (1904 – 2003) was a Kinesiology faculty member from 1947 to 1970. Professor Drom, known by her students as their “teacher of teachers,” was a pioneer in the fields of body mechanics and movement. To recognize Beulah’s significant contributions at Illinois, her colleague Dr. Alyce Cheska established the Beulah Drom Scholarship. It is supported through gifts made by friends and alumni of the department.

Carita Robertson Physical Education for Women Scholarship

Carita Robertson (1897 – 1990) was a faculty member in the Department of Physical Education for Women from 1925 to 1963. Originally called the PEW Alumnae Scholarship, it was renamed the Carita Robertson Physical Education for Women Scholarship in 1963 to honor Miss Robertson’s significant contributions to the Department. It recognizes an outstanding junior or senior women majoring in Kinesiology.

Agnes Radich Vidovic Award

Agnes Radich Vidovic received a B.S. in Physical Education for Women from the University of Illinois in 1951 and taught physical education until her retirement in 1990. With a desire to support future generations of students, Mrs. Vidovic established the Agnes Radich Vidovic Award to recognize outstanding undergraduate students in Kinesiology or Community Health who have shown scholarly merit and professional promise.

Robert L. Sprague Thesis Award

This award is supported through generous gifts made by Dr. and Mrs. Robert Sprague. Dr. Sprague joined the faculty in 1964 and retired after 36 years of service in 2000. In creating this award, Professor Emeritus Sprague and Mrs. Sprague help defray thesis expenses of graduate students in Kinesiology.