exterior shot of west entrance to Huff Hall

Illini Win Medals after Big Sendoff

AHS E-News September 2021

group of fourteen Paralympic athletes, some in wheelchairs and some standing, posing and looking excited

More than half of the University of Illinois-affiliated athletes who competed at the Paralympics in Tokyo got a rousing sendoff on August 9 at the Rehabilitation Education Center, home of the Division of Disability Resources and Educational Services.

Members of the University of Illinois and Urbana-Champaign communities gathered to wish the athletes well while they enjoyed complimentary treats from the Kona Ice Truck and Sidney Dairy Barn.

track and field athlete Yen Hoang sitting in wheelchair shaking hands with a young boy while an older woman looks on

A young fan wishes track and field athlete Yen Hoang good luck.


track and field athlete Jenna Fesemyer standing next to her mother, who is standing next to Jenna's boyfriend

Jenna Fesemyer poses with two of her biggest fans, her mother and boyfriend.

track and field athlete Daniel Romanchuk, sitting in wheelchair, talks to two members of the media

Daniel Romanchuk talks to the media.

Other Illinois athletes on Team USA are track and field competitors Hannah Dederick, Alexa Halko, Eva Houston, Kelsey Lefevour, Ray Martin, Chelsea McClammer, Tatyana McFadden, Amanda McCrory, Aaron Pike, Susannah Scaroni, and Brian Siemann, and Paralympic basketball athletes Brian Bell, Ryan Neiswender, Steve Serio, Kaitlyn Eaton, and Ali Ibanez.

Several other Illinois alumni competed for other countries, including tennis player Dylan Alcott, who is competing for Australia; women’s basketball players Kady Dandeneau (Canada) and Helen Freeman (Great Britain); men’s basketball players Hiroaki Kozai (Japan) and Patrick Anderson and Nik Goncin (Canada); and Edina Mueller, who will compete in rowing for Germany.

The Paralympics began on August 24 and ended on September 5. Illinois Paralympians won the following medals:
Ray Martin, Silver, Men’s T52 400m; Silver, Men’s T52 1500m; and Gold, Men's T52 100m
Tatyana McFadden, Bronze, Women’s T54 5000m; Silver, Women’s T54 800m; and Gold, 4x100m relay
Daniel Romanchuk, Gold, Men’s T54 400m; and Bronze, Men’s Marathon
Susannah Scaroni, Gold, Women’s T53/54 5000m; and Bronze, Women’s T54 800m

Team USA’s men’s wheelchair basketball team, including Bell, Neiswender, and Serio, won Gold, while the women’s team that included Eaton and Ibanez won the Bronze Medal.

Back to the September 2021 AHS E-News