smiling 5-year-old boy wearing headphones

The Bob Bilger Graduate Student Award

Bob BilgerRobert C. Bilger (1926-2002) served the Department of Speech and Hearing Science both as a faculty member and department head during his University of Illinois career, which spanned almost 25 years. Dr. Bilger is recognized internationally as one of the leading researchers in psychoacoustics and hearing. For over thirty years he received continuous support from the National Institutes of Health to fund his research and was among the first to bring rigorous psychoacoustic techniques to the investigation of auditory dysfunction. A number of his scientific papers are considered to be landmarks in the discipline.

The Bob Bilger Graduate Student Award is dedicated to graduate students who are enrolled at UIUC and engaged in research to study the auditory system. Award recipients will be determined based upon academic merit and potential for continued research progress, with preference given to PhD students. Up to $4,000 can be awarded. Applications and support materials must be received no later than 5 p.m. on Friday, February 23, 2024.

Award recipients will be determined based upon academic merit and potential for continued research progress, with preference to doctoral students - specifically:


  1. Progress toward a graduate degree with preference toward the Ph.D.
  2. Research interest nearest to that pursued by Bob Bilger as described in the student's essay
  3. Innovative nature and promise of research program
  4. Emerging signs of graduate productivity
  5. Strength of faculty letter
  6. Potential impact of research findings on science and society
  7. Perceived commitment to pursue research in hearing

An interdisciplinary faculty committee will conduct a review of the proposals. Students are eligible to receive the award on a one-time basis.

To apply for the Bob Bilger Graduate Student Award, please complete and submit the application at this link. Your application and all support materials must be received no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, February 23, 2024. Note that the required essay and your curriculum vita must be attached to the form.

This includes:


  1. An essay that details your research accomplishments and the direction you would like your research to take in the future. The essay should also explain the problem that you are addressing, the specific goals of your research, and the impact/significance of this work on psychoacoustics and hearing science. In a separate text box in the application, also describe how your research is related to that of Professor Bob Bilger. Please submit this essay in the application form, found here.
  2. Your curriculum vita that includes degrees, academic and professional experiences, publications, presentations, awards, and honors. Please attach your CV to the same form, found here.
  3. A letter of support from a faculty member who is able to evaluate the merit of your research program. Faculty can send their letter by email ( or regular mail to the address listed below.

Bob Bilger Graduate Student Award Recipients

Date Name Major
2023 Gibbeum Kim Speech & Hearing Science
2023 Kaley Graves Speech & Hearing Science
2022 Simin Soleimanifar Speech and Hearing Science
2021 Mr. Rafay Khan
Ms. Ali Marquess
Ms. Sylvia Murgia
Speech and Hearing Science
Speech and Hearing Science
2020 Jungeun (Jenny) Won
Shraddha Shende
Speech and Hearing Science
2019 YiHsin Tai
Hannah Staisloff
Speech & Hearing Science
2018 Kevin Stebbings Neuroscience
2017 Georgiy Yudintsev Neuroscience
2016 Guillermo Monroy Engineering
  Alexandria Lesicko Neuroscience
2015 Sarah Robinson Engineering
  Sara Schmidt Neuroscience
2014 Jake Carpenter-Thompson Neuroscience
2013 Andrea Trevino Engineering
2012 Cac Nguyen Engineering
2011 Woojae Wan Speech & Hearing Science
2010 Lynn Brault Speech & Hearing Science
2009 Hee-Cheong Chon Speech & Hearing Science
2008 Jaimie Gilbert Speech & Hearing Science
2007 Brian Powers Neuroscience
2006 Sarah Melamed Speech & Hearing Science
2005 Jeremy Loebach Biological Psychology
2004 Jeffery Larsen Speech & Hearing Science
2003 Hanna Stevens Neuroscience


Bilger Award Selection Committee

  • College of Applied Health Sciences
  • 110 Huff Hall, MC-586
  • 1206 South Fourth Street
  • Champaign, IL 61820
  • Phone: 217-244-6600